Save SF News

Save SF News is a campaign to ensure that San Franciscans have access to independent journalism.

***PRESS RELEASE***

15+ San Francisco News Outlets Launch #SaveSFNews Fundraising Campaign

SAN FRANCISCO, CA — After withstanding unprecedented drops in revenue caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, 15+ of San Francisco’s public interest news outlets are holding a joint fundraiser to preserve and protect the city’s independent press.

Local reporting has been essential during the shelter-in-place public health orders and local and national elections, highlighting issues that matter and institutions that needed help. Local publications acted as community resources that readers turned to when they needed assistance of their own.

In the past decade, many San Francisco press outlets have closed, reduced output and changed ownership, and consolidated. The tech boom has not led to a renaissance for the city’s local media.

For-profit and nonprofit, large and small newsrooms are launching a joint fundraiser called Save SF News that builds on the success of Chicago Independent Media Alliance’s May 2020 campaign which generated $160,000 for more than 40 newsrooms.

“San Francisco’s independent press fights for the city — its art, culture, people, businesses and institutions,” Ingleside Light publisher and fundraiser organizer Alex Mullaney said. “A rich city needs a rich variety of journalism.”

Members of the public can give at www.savesfnews.com through January 5, 2021. Donors can give to one, some, or all participating publications.

Accion Latina, the parent nonprofit organization of 50-year old biweekly newspaper El Tecolote, serves as the Save SF News fundraising campaign’s fiscal sponsor.

Donations can be made online at www.savesfnews.com or by check payable to Accion Latina and mailed to 2958 24th St., San Francisco, CA 94110. Please include the following contact information with your check: Save SF News / Name / Mailing Address / Email Address / Phone.

For more information about the Save SF News fundraising campaign, visit www.savesfnews.com.

Participating News Outlets

Bay Area Reporter (https://www.ebar.com/)

Broke-Ass Stuart (https://brokeassstuart.com/)

El Tecolote (http://eltecolote.org/)

48 Hills (https://48hills.org/)

FunCheap (https://sf.funcheap.com/)

Ingleside Light (https://www.inglesidelight.com/)

Mission Local (https://www.missionlocal.org)

Nichi Bei Weekly (https://www.nichibei.org/)

Noe Valley Voice (http://noevalleyvoice.com/)

Potrero View (https://www.potreroview.net/)

Public Comment (https://www.publiccommentsf.com/)

Richmond ReView (http://richmondsunsetnews.com/)

San Francisco Bay Times (http://sfbaytimes.com/)

San Francisco Bay View (http://sfbayview.com/)

Sunset Beacon (http://richmondsunsetnews.com/)

Westside Observer (https://westsideobserver.com/)

Wind Newspaper (http://www.windnewspaper.com/)

###

Scroll to top